North India student parliament held on 26-27 March, 2017 at Shri Mata Vaishno Devi University




The North India Student Parliament (NISP) is a non-political platform proposed for the purpose of sensitizing the youth of North India towards Nation Building and the emerging prospects for the youth in this regard. The theme of the proposed parliament is "Inspiring Youth, Strengthening Democracy". It is a platform where eminent experts, members across party lines, scientists, media and social organizations enlighten the youth on the issues related to contemporary challenges to nation building and to bring about a change that will propel the country forward. The NISP is a classroom that will tutor to nearly 300 students of the age group of 18-25. It will provide lessons on the functioning of democracy, the economic scenario and technological advancements of the country and encourage the students to serve the society by entering public life and attaining leadership roles. We try to create an environment so that committed, educated, motivated and spirited youth will participate in democracy, polity, social initiatives and contribute towards evolving a healthy democracy and accountable governance.


1.) Vision 2035: Work hard vs. work smart.

2.) Contributing to nation from one's own condition in society.

3.) Is military strength unavoidable for strengthening the nation?

4.) Primacy of ethos to economy for nation building.

5.) Does education have a key role in nation building?

6.) Constitutional patriotism instead of sentimental patriotism.


It is open to all student leaders of North India.

The number of maximum participation would be 10 (including male and female) from every participating institution.

Participants from each participating institution shall submit CDs/mail [] through google-drive of their video-recorded speeches on any of the given sub-themes. We shall select students for delivering their speeches during the event.

The medium of speech can be Hindi and English. The time limit of the speech is 5 minutes only.

There is age restriction for all the student participants (In the age group of 18-25 only) and she/he must be a bona fide student of the participating institution.

The registration fee to be charged from each participant is 1000/- (for students) and 1500/- for other independently participating youth.

Filling of the Registration Form is mandatory for each participant individually, that can be posted/scan-mailed to the given address/ID by the specified last date.

Each participant will be provided a participation kit.

Participation certificate shall be given at the end of the conclave.

The organizers will not reimburse any travelling expense of the participants. However, the participants will be provided suitable breakfast, lunch, and dinner on the campus.

We will also provide suitable accommodation (hostel rooms) on campus.



How to Register:

A participant has to submit the Registration Form duly forwarded by concerned authorities and be submitted through post, e-mail, fax etc. to the following:
Postal Address: President, Board of Cultural Activities, Shri Mata Vaishno Devi University, Katra, Dist. Reasi, J&K -182320
Fax: 01991-285732
Registration Fee:
For Student Participants: 1000/-
For Others: 1500/-

How to deposit fee:

A participant shall make a DD from any national bank in favour of Registrar, Shri Mata Vaishno Devi University, Katra, payable at Katra or Jammu.

Last Date for Registration:

The registration forms must reach the address by 15 March, 2017.

Registration Form

Download Registration Form